Can You be Compensated for a Hit and Run Accident in Massachusetts?
Hit and run accidents can be traumatic experiences, leaving victims feeling helpless and uncertain of what to do next. Fortunately, residents of Massachusetts who have been injured in a hit and run accident are not without options. In this article, I will discuss what steps you should take if you or someone you know has been involved in a hit and run accident in Massachusetts so that they may seek compensation for their injuries and damage to their vehicle. I will also explain how an experienced Massachusetts personal injury attorney such as myself can help ensure the victim receives all of the financial compensation they deserve for their pain, suffering, medical bills, lost wages, and more as a result of the accident.
What to do if you have been in a hit and run accident in Massachusetts
If you've been injured in a hit and run accident, there are several steps you can take to ensure you get the compensation you deserve.
Call 911 and report the incident; this will provide law enforcement with vital information they need to apprehend the other driver.
You should also speak to any witnesses who may have seen something and collect their contact information.
Next, it's important to document all relevant details about the accident – such as time, date, location, damage sustained by your vehicle – for future reference.
Take photos of the accident scene, including damage to your vehicle.
Obtain medical attention as soon as possible to make sure any injuries are properly treated.
What if the other driver cannot be found?
In Massachusetts, injured parties in a hit and run accident can file an uninsured motorist claim through their personal injury protection coverage (PIP) with their auto insurance company to recover compensation for damages sustained in the accident. Uninsured motorist coverage is mandatory in Massachusetts, and protects you in the event of a hit and run accident. Massachusetts drivers are required to carry $20,000 in uninsured motorist bodily injury (UMBI) coverage per person (up to $40,000 per accident). However, Massachusetts does not require drivers to have uninsured motorist property damage (UMPD) insurance.
Getting help with your hit and run case
You should contact an experienced Massachusetts personal injury attorney, who can help you navigate the complexities of a hit and run accident, and work with your insurance company to make sure you receive maximum financial compensation for your pain, suffering, medical bills, lost wages, and more as a result of the accident.
An experienced Massachusetts personal injury attorney can help you recover medical expenses, lost wages, pain and suffering, and any other costs related to the accident itself. They will have knowledge of Massachusetts laws and procedures related to uninsured motorist cases and will be able to help ensure you receive all of the compensation you deserve for your injuries. At the end of the day, it's important to remember that you are not alone if you've been injured in a hit and run accident. There are legal options available for you to seek compensation, and an experienced attorney can help guide you every step of the way.
If you or someone you know has been involved in a hit and run accident in Massachusetts, call us at (978) 744-1220, or fill out our contact form to schedule a free case evaluation consultation with our team. We have the knowledge expertise to assist you with your case and ensure that you receive the compensation that you deserve. We will work with your insurance company to maximize the financial reimbursement for any medical expenses, lost wages, or pain and suffering you have experienced due to the accident.